Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree (Aunt Dimity Mystery)

By Nancy Atherton

The mild spirit's 16th event is a New York Times bestseller and as "cozy and captivating as a cup of Earl gray" (Bookpage.com).

After a dizzying time Down lower than, Lori Shepherd returns to Finch and reveals that her prosperous better half's father, William Willis, Sr., has simply bought a fantastic ten-acre property within reach. whereas William fends off neighborhood women motive on romance, Lori oversees the painstaking recovery of a unusual portray came upon in the course of renovations. it truly is not anything Lori cannot handle-until relocating furnishings, unusual sounds, and the robbery of the portray instructed her to name on Aunt Dimity for support uncovering the estate's shadowy past.

Show description

Continue reading

Scaredy Cat

By Mark Billingham

It is nearly unthinkable unmarried maniac may homicide girls miles aside at the similar day. but somebody Carol Garner domestic from the educate station and strangled her to loss of life in entrance of her three-year-old son. And, afterwards, Ruth Murray died in an identical demeanour. The proof is best Detective Inspector Tom Thorne to a beautiful end: there's not just one serial killer at the prowl, yet a couple of them, operating in tandem. And any corpse that turns up sooner or later simply could be followed by way of a moment. to forestall them either, Thorne needs to trap a guy whose have to manage is as nice as his have to kill; a guy who will threaten these closest to Thorne himself; a guy who will express him that the facility to encourage terror is the deadliest weapon of all.

Show description

Continue reading

A Royal Pain (A Royal Spyness Mystery)

By Rhys Bowen

Nineteen Thirties London. terrible woman Georgiana-thirty-fourth in line to the throne-has not anything to serve her Bavarian princess houseguest, even if the Queen of britain has asked that she entertain her. Then there is the problem of the physique within the book place and the princess's unwitting involvement with the Communist social gathering. it truly is sufficient to force a woman mad.

Show description

Continue reading

Ovid (Marcus Corvinus) (Volume 1)

By David Wishart

Whilst younger aristocratic layabout Marcus Corvinus is approached by way of the stepdaughter of the exiled and now useless Roman poet Ovid and requested to transparent the go back of the ashes for burial, he cheerfully is of the same opinion; there may still, he thinks, be no challenge. purely whilst he makes the applying to the imperial professionals it’s grew to become down flat. So what, Corvinus asks himself, did Ovid do this used to be so undesirable that they won’t even permit his bones again into Italy? the 1st ebook within the Marcus Corvinus sequence.

Show description

Continue reading

Thornhill (Hemlock, Book 2)

By Kathleen Peacock

Thornhill is the second one e-book in a supernatural secret trilogy ideal for readers who love Richelle Meade and HBO's hit drama real Blood.

Mackenzie's new love, Kyle, has plans to show himself in to the Lupine Syndrome Registration Bureau and sign up for a rehabilitation camp, the place he can dwell with different werewolves. yet Mac refuses to just accept his determination, particularly because the camps are rumored to be torturous and hazardous. whilst she follows him there, she uncovers harmful secrets and techniques buried in the partitions of Thornhill--a criminal for the younger and infected--and realizes that the chance to the folks she loves is bigger than ever before.

Kathleen Peacock's notable follow-up to her debut novel, Hemlock, good points heart-stopping motion and a hot romance.

Show description

Continue reading

Three Brothers: A Novel

By Peter Ackroyd

Rapier-sharp, witty, fascinating, and mysterious: a brand new novel from Peter Ackroyd set within the London of the 1960s.

Three Brothers follows the fortunes of Harry, Daniel, and Sam Hanway, a trio of brothers born on a postwar council property in Camden city. Marked from the beginning via curious twist of fate, each one boy is compelled to make his personal method within the world—a international of dodgy bargains and large enterprise, of legal gangs and crooked landlords, of newspaper magnates, backbiters, and petty thieves.
      London is the backdrop and the connecting textile of those 3 lives, reinforcing Ackroyd's grand topic that position and heritage create, encompass and engulf us. From bustling, cut-throat Fleet highway to hallowed London publishing homes, from the wealth and corruption of Chelsea to the smoky shadows of Limehouse and Hackney, this is often an exploration of town, peering down its streets, driving on its underground, and consuming in its pubs and golf equipment. every thing is possible—not merely within the new freedom of the Nineteen Sixties but additionally in London's undying earlier.

Show description

Continue reading

A Killing Night (The Max Freeman Mysteries)

By Jonathon King

Book 4 of the bestselling Max Freeman secret sequence: Max’s research of a string of murders in south Florida leads him to the main surprising of suspects

After 3 younger woman bartenders have been murdered in Miami and one went lacking in Philadelphia, Freeman’s ex-girlfriend Sherry Richards hires him to aid with the case. Freeman grudgingly accepts the task, regardless of Sherry’s insistence retired police officer who kept Freeman’s existence again in Philadelphia is the major suspect. As Freeman returns to Philly to enquire, he needs to face his emotions of camaraderie for his former colleague, his affection for Sherry, and a resurgence of his personal own demons for you to clear up the crime sooner than the killer can strike again.
 
This book includes an illustrated biography of the writer that includes never-before-seen photos.

Show description

Continue reading

Crimson Angel: A Benjamin January historical mystery set in New Orleans and Haiti (A Benjamin January Mystery)

By Barbara Hambly

Benjamin January is pressured to go back and forth to Haiti to hunt his family’s misplaced treasure, so as to retailer every little thing he holds dear

When Jefferson Vitrack – the white half-brother of Benjamin January’s spouse - turns up on January’s doorstep in the summertime of 1838 claiming he has chanced on a clue to the whereabouts of the family’s misplaced treasure, January has no hesitation approximately refusing to aid search for it. For the treasure lies in Haiti, the island that was France’s such a lot ecocnomic colony – till the blood-chilling repression practiced there via the whites upon their slaves prompted a savage uprising. The world’s merely Black Republic nonetheless seems with murderous distrust upon any strangers who may possibly set foot there, and January is in no hurry to go.

But whilst Vitrack is murdered, and makes an attempt are made on January’s spouse and himself, he is aware that he has no selection. He needs to search the treasure himself, to attract the unknown killers into the open, a bloody path that leads first to Cuba, then to Haiti, and eventually to the key that lies buried with the accursed gold.

Show description

Continue reading

Anil's Ghost: A Novel

By Michael Ondaatje

Together with his first novel because the the world over acclaimed The English Patient, Booker Prize—winning writer Michael Ondaatje provides us a piece exhibiting the entire richness of images and language and the piercing emotional fact that we have got come to understand because the hallmarks of his writing.

Anil’s Ghost transports us to Sri Lanka, a rustic steeped in centuries of culture, now compelled into the past due 20th century by way of the ravages of civil battle. Into this maelstrom steps Anil Tissera, a tender lady born in Sri Lanka, expert in England and the USA, who returns to her fatherland as a forensic anthropologist despatched through a world human rights workforce to find the resource of the equipped campaigns of homicide engulfing the island. What follows is a narrative approximately love, approximately relatives, approximately identification, in regards to the unknown enemy, in regards to the quest to release the hidden past–a tale propelled by means of a riveting secret. Unfolding opposed to the deeply evocative history of Sri Lanka’s panorama and historic civilization, Anil’s Ghost is a literary spellbinder–Michael Ondaatje’s strongest novel but.

Show description

Continue reading